Teaching myself to cook, one recipe at a time.
Showing posts with label rice. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rice. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Red Beans and Rice

Happy New Year, everyone!

I thought I’d start off 2013 with a post that has nothing to do with holidays or new beginnings or New Years in general. It’s just something that I made recently that turned out pretty well.

IMG_8143

My entire experience with red beans and rice is what I’ve gotten from Popeye’s on those few occasions when hubby really needed a Louisiana food fix. I wasn’t a huge fan of it, but it was all right, and since I had a few pounds of Cajun sausage in my freezer, I thought this would be a nice dish to try for him. I’m a nice wife sometimes.

I started off with a pound of dry red kidney beans. Dry beans intimidate me but Google is my friend.

IMG_8130

I started off with boiling them and letting them sit for an hour or so.

IMG_8131

Meanwhile, I chopped up some veggies (onion, green pepper, celery) and sauteed them in olive oil with some garlic

IMG_8132

Then I forgot to take pictures for a few steps. Basically, I rinsed the beans and then put them back in the pot with about 6 cups of fresh cold water. I also added a few bay leaves and some cayenne pepper.

IMG_8133

Then I added thyme…

IMG_8134

Blurry sage…

IMG_8135

Similarly blurry parsley (I need to focus on photography skills in 2013)…

IMG_8136

And Penzey’s Cajun spices.

IMG_8137

And I’m going to be perfectly honest, I don’t know what this is. It’s not in the recipe. Could it be just a dark picture of partially-added Cajun spice? Probably. But I couldn’t swear to it.

IMG_8138

Oh yeah, don’t forget to add the veggies!

IMG_8140

Here ya go. Bring it to a boil, and then simmer for two and a half hours. I think I did closer to two hours. I also think I added a healthy dose of salt, too. I have learned that Cajun food requires it.

IMG_8141

Then add your sliced sausage, imported by the inlaws (no pictures; sorry!), and simmer for another half hour or so.

Up until this point, I was seriously, seriously questioning this dish. Once the sausage was in, though, it took on a whole different quality. The Cajun sausage here really made a difference in the aroma and in the taste of the broth.

Serve over fresh, hot, fluffy rice. And that’s it!

IMG_8144

The smokiness of the sausage really mixed well with the sage and thyme. Like I said, I was skeptical of this dish until the sausage was added. But then it got yummy. Really yummy. I’m not sure how to describe this.

IMG_8145

But I am pretty sure this was better than Popeye’s!

Here’s the recipe, if you’d like to give it a shot. Not sure how it would be without real Cajun sausage but if you’re like me and from the North, you might not know the difference Smile

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Roast Chicken

You may have noticed that I took a little hiatus from posting over the past few weeks. To be honest, I just wasn’t feeling it. I guess it was a combination of feeling a bit overwhelmed with juggling all the things in my life (working two part time jobs, school, dogs, holiday get-togethers, helping hubby make a few extra bucks by doing some work for a friend), so it wasn’t my highest priority. Also, I was worried that I’d been annoying my facebook friends by linking to my posts too often. I have plenty of people that annoy me to death on facebook and I really didn’t want to become one of those people. Yet I sense that the majority of people who read this blog do so because I post those links. I’m a little confused, then, as to whether I should continue this blog. I enjoy it, yes, and I feel a sense of pride  about it, but do people read it?

Anyway, I’ve had a break and I think I feel better. Also, I finally discovered pictures of roast chicken that I accidentally buried in a folder of pictures from my sophomore year in college, and I was excited about this because I’d been looking for them since August.

And I’m drinking wine. But that’s totally unrelated.

IMG_7090

This was a recipe posted by Ree on The Pioneer Woman Cooks over the summer. I made it a few weeks later and it was delicious and especially photogenic.

See? Pretty ingredients.

IMG_7065

I started off by zesting the lemon.

IMG_7068

And tossing the zest in a bowl.

IMG_7069

Then I took some of the fresh rosemary off its sprig

IMG_7070

and chopped it all up.

IMG_7071

I threw it in the bowl with the lemon zest

IMG_7072

And took a poorly lit and oddly focused picture of some softened butter thrown in there, as well.

IMG_7076

Here it is all mixed up.

IMG_7077

Basically, you put a whole chicken on a greased baking sheet and smear the butter all over it.

IMG_7078

In retrospect, this seems pretty disgusting. I feel as though I used far more butter than I was supposed to. But I feel as though I should also mention that the lemon zest smelled wonderful and it was easy to get carried away. I swear.

IMG_7079

Next, halve the lemons. Squeeze one over the chicken itself.

IMG_7082

Shove some sprigs of rosemary into the cavity,

IMG_7083

Followed by as many lemon halves as you can get in there.

IMG_7085

And then roast it until it looks like this and the internal temp is where it should be (don’t make me go look it up. I don’t remember what that is and I’m feeling lazy from a day of playing in the snow with huskies, alternated with watching movies with hubby).

IMG_7086

Let it rest for at least 10 minutes, then serve it up! I served it with broccoli and rice. Simple and easy.

IMG_7088

And delicious.

IMG_7089

IMG_7091

IMG_7092

Okay, yes, it was a LOT of butter. That came across in the taste. It was really tasty, though I do remember thinking that it was a bit much to take in. Next time, I’ll scale it back. But the tasted of the butter, combined with the lemon and rosemary, was really good overall. The meal was easy to put together and tasty, and it also made for good leftovers. If I recall correctly, they went toward a barbecue chicken pizza or something like that.

I recommend clicking over to Ree’s original post and giving the recipe a try. Her pictures are far more professional than mine, anyway.

And if you have any thoughts on the future of this little blog project, please leave a comment!

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Dirty Rice

I was looking for more things to do with the shallots that my Aunt had sent me a few weeks ago. Hubby had some ideas, having grown up using shallots in Cajun rice down in Louisiana. This was my attempt to combine his verbal accounts with a copycat recipe for Popeye’s Cajun rice (aka dirty rice).

IMG_7044

I started off with a stalk of celery.

IMG_7000

And diced it up pretty finely.

IMG_7005

Then I did the same with a green bell pepper.

IMG_7007

Next, I turned to the shallots.

IMG_7012

And diced a couple of those babies up, too.

IMG_7014

Finally, I used a few cloves of my Aunt’s homegrown garlic.

IMG_7017

IMG_7018

IMG_7020

With all that prepped, I started browning a pound (or maybe a pound and a half) of ground beef.

IMG_7023

Then I added my diced celery and green pepper.

IMG_7025

Finally, I added the garlic and shallots.

IMG_7026

IMG_7027

When it was done, I drained the grease and added some long-grain rice.

IMG_7031

And then water, of course.

IMG_7032

Along with some seasoning.

IMG_7034

A little bit of Cajun seasoning…

IMG_7035

And a little bit of cayenne.

IMG_7036

Then I put the lid on and let it simmer for a while.

IMG_7037

When it was done, I fluffed the rice and gave it a taste. It was a little bland, so I added some Tony’s creole seasoning. I didn’t use it before because it’s so salty, but at this point I decided it could use the extra flavoring.

IMG_7040

All mixed in, this is what it looked like.

IMG_7042

In the end, it could have used more seasoning. I had been real careful not to overdo it because I’ve ruined food by using too much creole seasoning, but I really should have dialed it up a notch. Other than that, though, not bad. A good first attempt at dirty rice!